Happy New Year!/Rock Band is a wondrous invention

I sit at my computer, two hours into 2009.  My wife and I continued our boycott of New Year’s festivities this year and instead decided to go to an early movie, grab dinner, then hang out at home.  Hanging out turned into a Rock Band duo play session, or “New Year’s Rockin’ Eve”, as Dick Clark might call it.

That’s not all that notable unless you know my wife, who barely tolerates my gaming habit and will generally not go near a video game.  But she loves Rock Band.  As I sit here, I hear her banging away on the drums in the next room to Nirvana’s “Drain You”, a song I can’t imagine she’s a fan of.  This is why Rock Band and games like it are so great.  We have wiled away many an hour with her on drums or singing and me  doing a variety of rock functions.   It’s a bonding experience between us over what is essentially my hobby.  It’s especially funny considering how pissed she was last year when I told her I had bought a set of plastic drums that was going int he basement!

Speaking of pissed, after I failed “Joker and the Thief” for about the 5th time, we came up with a New Year’s resolution for me – stop getting so upset at video games.  Seriously, it’s dumb, but I do it all the time.  So that’s my project for next year this year.

So here’s wishing you and yours the best in the new year, and keep reading my blog if you’re so inclined.  I’m going to try to keep a relatively consistent update schedule with a variety of content.  I appreciate any and all feedback.

Comments are closed.

