I’m going down (down) in a blaze of glory

Well folks, this is it.  My last blog post.  When I started this thing back in December, I’m not sure what I intended it to be.  Kind of a personal journal.  I didn’t tell anybody about it, just kind of put it out there.

Then the Age of Blogging (AoB) came around at the beginning of the year.  I was writing mostly about WAR at the time, so I signed up.  I saw an immediate increase in traffic, which was cool, while at the same time I was getting kind of bored/frustrated with the whole blogging thing.  For those that haven’t tried it, it’s not as easy as it looks.  And I’m not even that good at it – how some of those guys/girls (see list at right) keep up such quality and quantity is beyond me. 

Fast forward to now.  I’ve got a new job that, while much better than my old one, is also demanding more of my time right now, a demand which doesn’t look to be letting up any time soon.  My playing of WAR and games in general has seen a sharp decline, and trying to write a blog a) without a lot of free time and b) without playing much of the game that it is loosely based on makes for a frustrating experience.

After I got a couple hits from AoB but was getting increasingly frustrated, I said to myself I would stick it out until I got 1,000 hits or 50 comments, whichever came first, just as a personal milestone.  I know that’s a pretty paltry sum for most of the other bloggers, but for me it’s a bunch.  Well, as of today I have flown past the 1,000 mark in a whirlwind of hits and comments.  People largely disagreed with my last post as evidenced by my comments section and this thread at the VN Boards.  Which is cool, it sparked a lot of conversation, even though a good bit of it devolved into general flames (hence the Bon Jovi reference – who got that?). 

For some numbers, prior to the last post going up I had 714 hits in total.  I was looking at making my goal sometime probably near the end of February, and I was kind of dreading it, to be honest.  My last post alone has since garnered 475  hits at the time of this writing (thanks to a couple influential links from Book of Grudges and Warhammer Vault), simultaneously sparking the flame bath and putting me to my goal.   Not bad for a throw away post written in about 20 minutes on a Monday night!

So this will be my last post on this blog for the forseeable future.  I’m still going to follow the other WAR bloggers and (hopefully) start playing WAR some more, but my motivation to keep writing about it has all but dried up.  I’m glad to have met my goal and achieved a sense of closure instead of just abandoning it.  Thanks to all of you who have visited, commented, and lent your support through AoB and otherwise, it is definitely appreciated.  I think WAR has a great community, and look forward to seeing what the future holds. 

But I won’t be writing about it.  Peace out.

11 Responses to I’m going down (down) in a blaze of glory

  1. Syp says:

    Blogging is hard work, but I wanted to say that I really do appreciate your posts and were enjoying them during this month. Good job, and see you in the game!

  2. Snafzg says:

    Good luck man. I hope it wasn’t idiotic comments that made you take a break. I crave those kinds of comments so I can lash back out at them! 😛

    I’m like a rattlesnake…

    *rattle rattle*

  3. scribbler says:

    agree with snafgz some of the stuff was out of line.

    I guess some of us are more used to it than others, i was the meele dps & recruitment officer for a WoW guild for 3 years so its all water off a ducks back to me.(not that people don’t occasionally get to me ofc)

    Debate is a wonderful thing as long as you treat others with respect and agree to disagree.

  4. Schlotzky says:

    Thanks for the comments, fellas. Nice to know you guys were reading. As I said, I’d been considering stopping for awhile, so now seemed as good of a time as any. I’ll leave it to the experts (ie. you guys) from now on.

  5. arbitrary says:

    Aww, but totally understand why. SOmetimes I wonder about dropping it all again too 🙂

  6. […] no! Schlotzy’s is closing (but I understand why), I enjoyed it while it […]

  7. zizlak says:

    Ohh…noo.
    I’ve enjoyed reading your stuff.
    Good luck man

  8. Ysharros says:

    Doh! But… RL > blog, heretical as that may seem. Soon enough people will start getting mad at you if you don’t post every day — quit while you’re ahead! 😀

    Besides, a new job in the current climate is a damn good thing. Don’t be losing it.

  9. Ventris says:

    Keep your head up S and remember, this is the intertubes – you can always come back.

  10. shadowwar says:

    Yeah, I’ve enjoyed reading as well,though it’s obviously not every day. Sorry to see any vocal member of our community step out of the light, but we all can understand why, especially when you can have as strong an incentive as a pack of slathering forum hounds tearing through a quick op piece. Best of luck in the new job!

  11. Josh says:

    I just stumbled upon you blog – sorry to see you go, but congratulations on the new Jorb. If you manage to have the time to get back into WAR, I hope you enjoy yourself.

